Monday, 17 February 2014

Monitoring Committee for Projects in NER

Shri Paban Singh Ghatowar
The Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER) Shri Paban Singh Ghatowar has said that the Prime Minister reviewed the status of implementation of infrastructure projects in the north eastern region (NER) on 18th July, 2013 .

 Some of the important decisions taken were to provide required funds to certain important National Railway Projects in North Eastern Region.

 To improve the speed of implementation of existing projects by strengthening project execution capabilities on the ground, stationing National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) staff close to the field and regular review by the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways.

 To provide additional funds from the Non-Lapsable Central Pool of Resources for intra-state transmission network in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim and to develop civil aviation sector to meet intra and inter-regional demand by expanding network and completing works on on-going airports.

In a written reply in Lok Sabha today Shri Ghatowar said, to expedite the completion of infrastructural projects in the North Eastern Region, an  Empowered Committee for monitoring infrastructure projects in the North Eastern Region has been constituted  on 16.08.2013 with the following composition:-

1.           Shri B.K. Chaturvedi, Member,
        Planning Commission                                          Chairman

2.           Secretary, Planning Commission                         Member

3.           Chairman, Railway Board                                   Member

4.           Secretary, M/o Road Transport & Highways                Member

5.           Secretary, M/o Defence                                         Member

6.           Secretary, M/o Civil Aviation                               Member

7.           Chairman, Inland Waterways Authority of
        India (ministry of Shipping)                                Member

8.           Secretary, M/o Power                                           Member

9.           Secretary, M/o Telecom                                        Member

10.      Secretary, M/o DoNER                                        Member

11.      Director General, Border Roads Organization     Member

                   The first meeting of the empowered committee was held on 09.09.2013 and infrastructure projects relating to railways, road, civil aviation, power and telecommunication sectors were reviewed in the meeting, the Minister added.   

You May Also Like


Popular Posts